We were never oblivious to how difficult a newborn could be. We were ready to put in the effort and do the sleepless nights and the long days. Little did we know that soon I would be thankful for any spare moment that the baby was willing to allow me to enjoy. I literally held her in my arms for a month, except nights when she slept- well, like a baby. Between 8am and 10pm however, Alisa was being carried, held, rocked…you name it. 

She didn’t want to be put down. As soon as she fell asleep and anyone attempted to put her into her bed she would momentarily be wide awake and stay like that for another hour. Hands were a different matter. She could sleep for hours just as long as you are holding her. Ridiculous. 

I was counting down the days until my mother-in-law would arrive to stay with us for a whole 3 months! Bliss. I was looking forward to having extra hands and dreaming of all the things I would be able to do while my mother-in-law held the baby, such as take a hot shower or enjoy a hot cup of coffee for a change. I was also looking forward to giving my mom a break from coming over two times a day to help me with my bundle of joy.

Alisa however had other plans.

Her grandmother arrived full of joy, hope and ambition. Alisa is her first grandchild. That is huge. She dots on her and loves her to the moon and back. But they did not get off to a good start. Alisa used to scream bloody murder when I handed her over to her grandmother. If she was fast asleep in my arms and I put her into her grandmother’s arms…she would instantly wake up. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I had exactly a week to make things right before I went back to work. Otherwise how could I leave my 7 weeks old at home if she is constantly awake and fussy?

I don’t know how or when I got her so attached to me but she is literally not leaving my arms.  Alisa is still working on her relationship with her grandmother and the air is a little thick around the house. When she cries she wants no one but mommy and daddy to hold her and its the same deal for when she is falling asleep. I have no idea what could be the cause of her discomfort and in my efforts to fix the situation I have even once asked my mother-in-law to wear my T-Shirt, maybe if she smelled like me Alisa would be fooled.

She wasn’t by the way.

Not even for a minute.

